The Swannanoa Valley Museum & History Center’s Walk Through History series is an opportunity for WNC residents to get to know the rich history of the Swannanoa Valley by walking its historic estates, sidewalks and cemeteries with knowledgeable guides. Running from April thru September one Wednesday morning a month (with a break in July), each tour is conducted by local experts who intimately know the history of the individuals and communities who once traversed the valley. Come enjoy a morning stroll through WNC history!

LOCATIONS: All registered attendees will meet at the Swannanoa Valley Museum for check-in and orientation then caravan to the Walk Through History locations.

COST: $35 per event for general admission, $25 for museum members with a promo code. Some fees apply. 

  • Cancellations made 48 hours or more before the program start date will receive a full refund.
  • Cancellations made less than 48 hours before the program start date will not be eligible for a refund.
  • A full refund will be offered if the museum cancels the program due to weather or unforeseen circumstances.
  • We recommend notifying us of your cancellation in writing via email to
  • You will receive a confirmation email upon processing your cancellation request.

2024 Locations

100 Years of Historic GrovemontWednesday, April 10th, 9:30am-12:00pm
Piney Grove CemeteryWednesday, May 22nd, 9:30am-12:00pm
Old Town SwannanoaWednesday, June 12th, 9:30am-12:00pm

2024 Location Details & Registration

April 10th: 100 Years of Historic Grovemont

Join us in celebrating the 100 year anniversary of Grovemont-on-Swannanoa! In 1924, developer E.W. Grove had his hands full with two major projects: the construction of Battery Park Hotel and the more ambitious undertaking of Grovemont-on-Swannanoa, the country’s first planned community. Explore the neighborhood and learn about the unique history of this community. Take a walk with us and see how it was planned, developed, and visit some of the exteriors of the original houses that still exist today.


May 22nd: Piney Grove Cemetery

Take a guided tour of the Piney Grove Church cemetery, which dates all the way back to the end of the Revolutionary War. In the early 1780s, the Davidson and Alexander families moved from Old Fort and settled near Bee Tree Creek in the Swannanoa Valley, on land the colonial government had recently seized from the Cherokee. In 1831, Piney Grove Church was established. Today there are about 1,800 gravesites in the Piney Grove cemetery, with the oldest headstone believed to date back to the 1820s. Local historians and tour guides Bill Alexander and Glenn Cox will detail the lives of many of the people buried in the cemetery, painting a picture of hundreds of years of Swannanoa Valley history.


June 12th: Old Town Swannanoa

Swannanoa was once home to a thriving downtown, known to locals as “The Station.” Bordered by the Beacon Blanket mill and the railroad tracks, Swannanoa’s downtown included cafes, grocery stores, a drug store, a bank, a movie theater, a five-and-dime, and other variety stores. Join us for a walking tour of the old downtown area and the historic buildings that were once a part of the mill town. Learn about the history of this area, and see what’s happening in the old downtown today. This tour will be led by a local historian and LeAnne Johnson, the Swannanoa Valley Museum Director.